Nevyansk tower – perhaps the most famous landmark of the Urals. This is a unique architectural monument of the first half of xviii century. Nevyansk tower is known not only for its unusual history, but also, primarily, many legends associated with it. Nevyansk tower was built in the years 1721-1725 on the orders of Akinfiev Demidova, son of industrialist Tula Nikita Demidov. Consists of "chetverik and three octagonal decks, facing each on the other. At the base of the tower is 9.5 to 9.5 square meters, the height is – 57,5 meters.
The thickness of the wall varies depending on the stage – if the bottom tier is 2 meters, then at the top – only 32 cm at the top of the dome installed flagoobrazny weather vane, which depicts a kind of emblem of the Demidov, as well as a lightning rod. Historians found that Nevyansk tower is not falling, and the slope, ie deviation from the vertical axis at 1.86 meters in the south-west remains unchanged. That is why one often hears that name – "Nevyansk inclined tower" (the inhabitants of the city Nevyansk offended if you call from vista "leaning tower"). Appointment Nevyanskiy Tower – one of the contentious issues for historians and ethnographers. Whether the tower was built as a fortification, or as the city's building (the bell tower, the town clock, a fire tower, factory offices and archives). Most probably represents the fourth version, which Demidoffs Nevyanskiy built the tower as a symbol of his power – in the xviii century they had virtually unlimited power in the Urals, being autocratic and edinovlastnymi owners of many factories and serfs. In the famous tower situated Laboratory, archive, treasury office, jail, local destination, "hearing room, the town clock and lookout (patrol) area. Nevyansk tower is well known beyond the Urals – its history is shrouded by many legends, but in the tower is a set of unique engineering inventions.
First, the unusual design – Nevyansk tower is tilted, while having the shape of a curved sword. Secondly, auditory room "in which a word spoken in a whisper in one corner, clearly audible in the opposite direction, and it is completely indistinguishable in center of the room and next to the speaker. Thirdly, the English clock, mounted on a tower, repaired only three times in almost 300 years (for example, the clock on the Kremlin's Spassky Tower has repaired at least several times a year). On programmed 20-hour drum melodies and struggled, bells, including "Glory" by M. , "God Save the Tsar" and "March of Mendelssohn. In this case, and today there are hours, beating the time. Fourth, according to legend, it is here in Nevyanskiy tower Demidoffs melted gold and silver, producing coins for the silver content had better emperor. In addition to these, the most famous legends, there are many more related Nevyanskiy tower.